This is about as far as I get trying to knit.

😦

I don’t know what it is about this particular point.  After almost biting my toung off trying to keep my concentration,  I get to this point and I either slip of too many loops or can’t get the one through the other!

I have decided that I am making this way harder than it really is.

So, I took a break and broke out the crochet hook. I just started crocheting with nothing in particular in mind and what I ended up with was this granny square inspired slouch hat!

Without further ado here are the photos!

About Tami

Visit my store at www.yourAVON.com/TamaraCartwright

8 responses »

  1. I so understand! I’ve tried every knitting book there is (even some for little kids!) and I can’t get past the first row. Sigh. You’ll get it, I just know it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Kathryn Rubidoux says:

    If you can’t slip the second needle in, then your gauge is too tight. Easy fix is to go up a needle size. What are you trying to make? Maybe I can help?
    Love the hat, very pretty!

    Like

    • Tami says:

      I am trying to make anything! I have never attempted knitting before.

      Thank you, I love the hat too I have been wearing it all day with my hair up in it!

      Like

      • Kathryn Rubidoux says:

        If you are just starting out, I wouldn’t use anything smaller than size 10 needles. It’s easier to see your stitches with bigger needles and bulkier yarn, and it’s harder to knit tight with big needles. What learning resources are you referencing? I like Knitty for their How-To tutorials and Knitting Pattern Central for tons of free patterns. There’s also a site called Knittinghelp.com that my sister recommended to me, but I haven’t used it yet. I knit almost everything with circular needles, but I learned using straights. DPNs are fun too.

        Like

      • Tami says:

        Wonderful! I will absolutely be checking in on these sites. I really want to learn. Guess I need to go get more needles too … I only have size 8! Yippee! That means I now have an excuse to go shopping!

        Like

  3. Brook says:

    It’s wonderful when something beautiful turns out from random frustration:) So glad you didn’t give up! The hat is *very inspired and perfectly finished*. Autumn colors are so beautiful…and your golden hair is beautiful too!

    Like

  4. Tami says:

    Thank you Brook! What a wonderful compliment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

